SkipcallVSDialpad

Head to head

Skipcall vs Dialpad: which one to choose

Dialpad is a unified communications suite, Skipcall a telephony and prospecting tool. This page settles one question: which of the two for your team. It starts with the least known point in the Dialpad price list, the licence you actually need to own in order to dial, then compares a full working day, the cost per conversation and the quotas, with the calculation method on show.

Charles BaldetCharles BaldetCEO & Co-Founder, Skipcall

Data verified on

The verdict, in three lines

The deciding factor is neither the price nor the length of the feature list: it is the number of communication uses you want to bring together in a single subscription, and the size of your company.

Choose Dialpad if

You want a single platform for voice, video meetings and internal messaging.

Dialpad is a unified communications suite: business telephony, meetings, team messaging, and a contact centre catalogue on top. If you are past a hundred employees, or if handling inbound calls is a job in itself, this is the territory of the large suites. Skipcall does not claim to answer it.

Choose Skipcall if

You have fewer than a hundred employees and a team that prospects.

One tool for the whole organisation: parallel dialling on four lines for the people who prospect, and a business number, inbound calls, voicemail, SMS and mobile and web apps for everyone else. Without stacking a telephony licence and a sales licence to obtain a dialler.

If you are still weighing up several tools and not only these two, the page on alternatives to Dialpad compares eight solutions on the market and sets out the company, the hosting and the reviews for each one.

What Dialpad does better than us

Four areas where the choice is not up for debate. Knowing them before you buy avoids a project that derails in month three.

It is a suite, Skipcall is not

Dialpad Connect brings business telephony, video meetings and team messaging together in a single subscription. Skipcall offers neither video meetings nor internal messaging. If your goal is to reduce the number of communication tools in the organisation, a suite does that job and a dialler never will.

The contact centre layer

Skipcall receives calls on your numbers, with voicemail and mobile and web apps. What it does not have is the layer above: interactive voice response, queues, distribution to a group of agents, live supervision. Dialpad sells that layer separately, in its Support plans, from $80 to $150 per licence per month on annual billing.

Autonomous voice agents

Dialpad offers an AI Agents catalogue: voice and written agents that handle a conversation on their own and pass it to a human if needed, priced on request, by credits consumed. Skipcall does not offer that, and will not. It is not a feature we are behind on, it is a position, explained further down.

Organisations of more than a hundred people

Beyond a hundred employees or so, telephony becomes a project in itself: several sites, several departments, call handling rules, contractual service levels. The large suites are equipped for that. Skipcall is built for smaller organisations, where one team prospects and the rest of the company simply needs to make and take calls.

What Skipcall does better than Dialpad

The same exercise the other way round, and verifiable in the same way: four areas where the gap works in our favour.

The dialler is in the plan, not in another catalogue

At Dialpad, the dialler is not part of the telephony plans: the Powerdialer requires a Dialpad Sell licence, a catalogue separate from Connect, from $39 per licence per month on annual billing. At Skipcall there is only one catalogue, and parallel dialling on four lines is included from the Starter plan.

Parallel dialling

No Dialpad telephony plan gives access to parallel dialling. The Powerdialer dials numbers one after another, and the campaign dialler, described by the vendor as progressive, assumes the Sell Premium plan at $150 per licence per month as well as a configured contact centre. At Skipcall, four lines go out together from the Starter plan, and artificial intelligence removes answering machines before they reach the sales rep.

The advertised price and the real price

The price a reader in a hurry remembers is the Connect Standard one, $15 per licence per month on annual billing. But to dial, it is the sales catalogue that applies: $39 for a sequential Powerdialer, $150 for a campaign dialler. On top of that comes the gap between annual and monthly billing, Connect Standard going from $15 to $27 and Sell Essentials from $39 to $49. The Skipcall price list is monthly: €75 advertised is €75 invoiced, parallel dialling included.

No licence minimum, and no tier to reach

At Skipcall, one licence is enough, and features do not depend on the plan you reach: call transcription, call summary, sequences, contacts, data enrichment and the four native integrations HubSpot, Pipedrive, Salesforce and Attio are included everywhere. At Dialpad, answering machine detection is tied to the campaign dialler and CRM integrations to the Sell licences: the tier you subscribe to decides what the sales rep gets.

Two families of tools, and only one that covers both

Most companies that prospect end up with two subscriptions: a telephony tool for everyone, a dialler for the sales team. That is the real hidden cost of this market, and it appears on no price list.

Business telephony and the suites

This is the family Dialpad belongs to.

Call handling, switchboard, queues, customer service, video meetings, internal messaging, international coverage.

Dialling is not at the heart of the product. At Dialpad, the dialler is not part of the telephony plans: it requires a licence from the sales catalogue.

Specialised parallel diallers

Tools built for a single job.

Several lines dialled at once, answering machine detection, callback cadences. Very effective for prospecting.

No telephony layer at all. The rest of the organisation, which simply needs a number and the ability to take calls, has to be equipped elsewhere. So a second subscription.

Skipcall

Both, in the same tool.

Parallel dialling on four lines at the level of the best specialists, and the full telephony layer: business number, inbound calls, voicemail, SMS, mobile and web apps.

It is not a suite: no video meetings, no team messaging, no inbound call routing. That is a deliberate choice: beyond a hundred employees or so, a suite is the better answer.

In practice: at Skipcall, a €15 licence is enough to equip someone who simply needs a business number, an app and the ability to take calls. The sales reps who prospect take a plan from €75, with parallel dialling. Same tool, same directory, same invoice, and no extra catalogue to subscribe to in order to get a dialler.

What you think you are buying, and what you actually need in order to dial

This is the most misunderstood point in the Dialpad price list, and the one that changes a sales team's budget. The dialler is not part of the telephony plans: it requires a licence from the sales catalogue, which is sold separately. Here are the four ranges, their scope and their price.

Dialpad rangeScopePrice per licence per monthDialler
Dialpad ConnectBusiness telephony, video meetings and team messagingStandard $15, Pro $25 per licence per month on annual billing. Enterprise on request.No dialler
Dialpad SellProspecting and sales: live coaching, playbooks, CRM integrationsEssentials $39, Advanced $95, Premium $150 per licence per month on annual billing.Powerdialer from Essentials, campaign dialler on the Premium plan
Dialpad SupportContact centre: multiple channels, live coaching, analyticsEssentials $80, Advanced $115, Premium $150 per licence per month on annual billing.Campaign dialler reached through a Sell Premium licence
Dialpad AI AgentsAutonomous voice and written agents, escalation to a humanOn request, by credits consumed per conversation.Not applicable

Sequential dialling

One number is dialled, the line rings, then the call connects or it does not. Only at the end of that sequence does the next number go out. The sales rep waits through the ringing, listens to the start of answering machines and hangs up. This is how the Dialpad Powerdialer works, and it requires a Sell licence from $39 per licence per month on annual billing. The campaign dialler, which chains calls automatically and can assign several lines to one agent, needs the Sell Premium plan at $150 as well as a contact centre.

Parallel dialling

Four numbers go out at the same time. As soon as someone picks up, the other three lines are released and the sales rep is connected. Filtering by artificial intelligence removes answering machines, switchboards and invalid numbers before they ever reach them. At Skipcall this is included from the Starter plan, with no extra licence and no contact centre to configure.

Between the entry telephony plan at Dialpad, at $15, and the automated campaign dialler, at $150, the price per licence is multiplied by ten. The difference is not about voice quality or how rich the software is: it is about what you have to subscribe to in order to make calls in series, and about how many attempts fit into an hour of work. That is what the next table puts into figures.

A typical day, hour by hour

Same sales rep, same list, same working hours. Only the dialling mode changes.

SlotWhat happensCalls · sequentialCalls · parallel
09:00 to 10:30First run through the day list45150
10:30 to 12:30Rest of the list and scheduled callbacks60200
14:00 to 15:30Second pass on the morning no answers45150
15:30 to 17:30Final run and end of day notes60200
Total for the day210700
Conversations obtained656

Assumptions on show: four working slots, an answer rate of 3% on sequential dialling, the upper bound of our published range of 2% to 3%, and 8% on parallel dialling. These are the figures published by Skipcall, applied to dialling modes and not to brands. The detail is in the 'Method and sources' section, further down.

The one table that settles it: the cost per conversation

Comparing two licence prices teaches you nothing when the two tools do not dial the same way. What counts is what one conversation obtained costs. Here is the calculation, based on the typical day above and twenty working days a month. On the Dialpad side, the licence used is the cheapest one that gives access to a dialler.

Dialpad Sell Essentials

$0.33

per conversation

Licence: $39 per month on annual billing

Conversations: 120 per month

Telephony: separate catalogue

Skipcall Expert

€0.25

per conversation

Licence: €280 per month

Conversations: 1,120 per month

Telephony: included, same licence

The Skipcall licence costs more, and yet the conversation comes out cheaper. That is the whole gap between a subscription price and a cost of use. The Skipcall plan used here is the one whose quota really covers the projected volume: at this pace, the 400 conversations of Starter and the 1,000 of Intermediate would be exceeded. The next section explains how to pick the right tier. On the Dialpad side, the calculation uses the Sell licence alone, without adding the telephony catalogue: that is the assumption most favourable to the vendor.

Amounts excluding tax, in each vendor's billing currency, without conversion. The Dialpad price is the one for annual billing; on monthly billing, Sell Essentials is advertised at $49.

Our plans come with a conversation quota. Here is the one that suits you

Skipcall caps the number of conversations on three of its four plans. Better to explain it clearly: picked badly, the plan becomes the real hidden cost.

PlanPriceConversationsWho it suits
Business VoIP€15200The people who need a business number and a few calls a day, with no prospecting.
Starter€75400A sales rep who prospects part time, or a team getting started. Around 20 conversations per working day.
Intermediate€1501,000A sales rep whose main job is outbound calling. Around 50 conversations per working day.
Expert€280UnlimitedVery high volume teams, and those who would rather not watch a counter.

Any conversation longer than ten seconds is counted. Calls under ten seconds, answering machines and invalid numbers consume nothing. No licence minimum: one licence is enough. The list of countries you can call is on the pricing page.

Our artificial intelligence serves the sales rep, it does not replace them

This is the fundamental difference between Skipcall and part of the market, in both directions: we put in more of it than the tools that have none, and we refuse to put it where others place it.

What our artificial intelligence does

It removes answering machines, switchboards and invalid numbers before they ever reach the sales rep. It transcribes the call and produces a summary. In other words, it takes away the work that has no value and leaves the work that does.

What it does not do

It does not speak for you. We do not offer a voice agent, and this is not a feature we are behind on: it is a position. To call a prospect or answer a customer, the best person for your company's image is still a member of your team.

Why the relationship matters

A company that hands its conversations to a machine loses the direct link with its contacts. That link is hard to rebuild, and its weakening does not show up on a dashboard for several months.

Why the cost matters too

Voice agents are billed by the minute or by the credit consumed. The invoice follows the volume, it is hard to forecast, and the real effect on the customer relationship is hard to measure. A fixed price licence stays a budget you control.

In one sentence

We automate what wastes your sales team's time, never the conversation itself.

Dialling, dropping an answering machine, spotting an invalid number, transcribing, summarising: the machine does it better and never tires. Talking to a customer or a prospect, no. That limit is also what keeps your budget predictable: a fixed price licence, and not billing by the minute or by the credit consumed that follows your volume.

The detail, criterion by criterion

CriterionSkipcallDialpad
Dialling modeParallel dialling, 4 simultaneous linesPowerdialer, one number at a time
Plan that contains the diallerIncluded from the Starter planDialpad Sell licence, a catalogue separate from telephony
Entry price for the dialler€75 per licence per month$39 per licence per month on annual billing
Automated campaign diallerIncludedSell Premium plan at $150, and a configured contact centre
Telephony only planBusiness VoIP at €15, without parallel diallingConnect Standard at $15 on annual billing, without a dialler
Gap between annual and monthly billingMonthly price list, €15 stays €15Connect Standard goes from $15 to $27, Sell Essentials from $39 to $49
Answering machine detectionYes, by artificial intelligenceOn the campaign dialler
Call transcriptionIncluded in every planIncluded
Licence minimumNone, one licence is enoughNot stated on the pages cited
Outbound call sequencesYes, structured cadencesNot stated on the pages cited
Built in contacts (pre CRM)YesNot stated on the pages cited
Native CRM integrationsHubSpot, Pipedrive, Salesforce and AttioCRM integrations announced on the Sell licences
Inbound calls and voicemailYesYes, Connect plans
Mobile and web appsYesYes
SMSYes, volume included depending on the planNot stated on the pages cited
Video meetings and team messagingNoIncluded in the Connect plans
Voice response, queues, supervisionNoYes, Support plans from $80 to $150
AI voice agentNo, by choiceAI Agents plans, on request, by credits consumed
APIYes, read access: contacts, call data, metricsNot stated on the pages cited

Dialpad scope recorded from the vendor's public pages on 3 September 2026. A cell reading 'not stated on the pages cited' means the information does not appear there, not that the feature is missing. Plans change: check the vendor's pricing page before you decide.

Method and sources

A comparison published by one of the two vendors is only worth something if its method can be checked. Here is where every figure on this page comes from, including what it does not prove.

The prices

Skipcall prices are those of the public price list, excluding tax, on monthly billing, with no licence minimum. Dialpad prices are those published by the vendor on its product pages, in dollars and on annual billing: Connect Standard at $15, Connect Pro at $25, Sell Essentials at $39, Sell Advanced at $95, Sell Premium at $150, Support from $80 to $150. Where the vendor does not publish a price, this page writes 'on request'. We do not convert currencies, so that a comparison never depends on the exchange rate of the day.

The licence used for the calculation

The cost per conversation uses Dialpad Sell Essentials at $39, the cheapest licence that gives access to a dialler. Comparing the Connect Standard telephony plan at $15 with a Skipcall plan that includes parallel dialling would make no sense: that plan contains no dialler. The telephony catalogue is in any case separate from the sales catalogue.

The answer rates

The 8% rate on parallel dialling and the 3% rate on sequential dialling, the upper bound of our published range of 2% to 3%, are the figures published by Skipcall on its product pages. They are our own figures, not an independent measurement, and they are attributed to no vendor by name: they describe two dialling modes, not two brands.

The typical day

The hourly table is an arithmetic projection based on the call rates and the answer rates above, over four working slots and twenty working days a month. It is not the record of a real day. Your figures will depend on your list, your sector and the hours you call.

What 'not stated' means

In the criterion by criterion table, a cell reading 'not stated on the pages cited' means the information does not appear on the vendor's public pages listed at the bottom of this page. It does not mean the feature is missing. We prefer to write it that way rather than conclude an absence we have not verified.

What we do not compare here

The vendor's identity, its funding, where the data is hosted and public review scores are not on this page. They are covered, with sources, on the Dialpad alternatives page.

Frequently asked questions

Which Dialpad plan includes the dialler?+

Not the telephony plans. The Dialpad Powerdialer requires a Dialpad Sell licence, billed from $39 per licence per month on annual billing, while the Connect Standard telephony plan is $15. The campaign dialler, the one that chains calls automatically, requires a Sell Premium licence at $150 per licence per month, plus a configured contact centre. This is the point most often discovered after signing: what you think you are buying, and what you actually need in order to dial.

Does Dialpad have a parallel dialler?+

Not in that form. The Dialpad Powerdialer dials numbers one after another. The campaign dialler, opened up on the Sell Premium plan, is described in the vendor's documentation as a progressive dialler able to assign several lines to one agent, but it assumes a contact centre and the most expensive plan in the Sell catalogue. No Dialpad telephony plan gives access to parallel dialling. At Skipcall, parallel dialling on four lines is included from the Starter plan.

Is Skipcall cheaper than Dialpad?+

Per licence, no: the Starter plan is €75 while Dialpad Sell Essentials is $39 on annual billing. Per conversation obtained, yes, because parallel dialling produces more conversations for the same working time. That is the only comparison that means anything between two tools that do not dial the same way. The cost per conversation table, higher up this page, sets out the calculation.

Can Skipcall replace a suite like Dialpad?+

No, and it does not try to. Skipcall offers no video meetings, no team messaging, no interactive voice response, no queues and no live supervision. It covers telephony and prospecting in the same tool: business number, inbound calls, voicemail, SMS, mobile and web apps, and parallel dialling on four lines. If your goal is to bring all your internal communications into a single subscription, a suite is the right choice.

How many conversations are included in a Skipcall plan?+

400 per licence per month on the Starter plan, 1,000 on Intermediate, no limit on Expert, and 200 on the Business VoIP plan. Any conversation longer than ten seconds is counted. A sales rep prospecting full time usually goes past the Starter quota: Intermediate, or even Expert, is the plan that matches that use.

Does Skipcall offer an AI voice agent?+

No, and that is a choice. Our artificial intelligence removes answering machines and invalid numbers, transcribes the call and summarises it, but it never speaks in place of the sales rep. Dialpad, for its part, offers an AI Agents catalogue, priced on request by credits consumed. A fixed price licence stays a budget you control, where billing by credit follows your volume.

Compare on your own calls

One licence is enough to load a list and count your conversations. It is the only comparison that counts.

Try Skipcall

Personalized demo • No commitment