“Free phone numbers” is one of the most searched promises in B2B prospecting, and one of the most stretched. Behind the same word sit three very different things: a free plan that renews every month, a trial that ends after a week, and a free web tool that finds one number and then asks you to sign up. We went through the free offers of the main B2B data providers on November 6, 2026, and wrote down what each one really gives you in phone numbers, not in “credits” or “contacts”. This page is refreshed every six months.
What “free” means when a tool promises phone numbers
Before comparing allowances, it helps to sort the offers. Three models coexist, and they do not serve the same purpose.
Three more details change what a “free credit” is worth. First, the credit is not the number: Lusha charges 5 credits per phone, Prospeo and FullEnrich 10 per mobile, Datagma 30. An allowance of 100 credits can mean 100 emails or 3 mobiles. Second, what happens when nothing is found: most providers say a search with no result costs nothing, which matters a lot on a free allowance. Third, where the number can go: some free plans only show the number in a browser extension, with no CSV export, which is fine for calling one person and useless for loading a dialer.
Free phone allowances, side by side
Here is what each offer gives in phone numbers. Allowances are converted from credits using the vendor’s own credit rules. “Vendor page” means we read it on the provider’s pricing page, help center or terms; “third-party” means the figure comes from dated 2026 reviews because the vendor does not publish it in a readable form.
| Provider | Offer type | Free phone allowance | Card needed | Source (checked Nov 6, 2026) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lusha | Free plan | 40 credits a month, 5 per phone: up to 8 phones | No | Vendor page |
| Prospeo | Free plan | 100 credits a month, 10 per mobile: up to 10 mobiles | No | Vendor help center |
| Kaspr | Free plan | 5 phone credits a month | No | Vendor page |
| Surfe | Free plan | 5 mobile finds a month | No | Vendor page |
| Apollo.io | Free plan | About 5 mobile credits a month | No | Third-party guides |
| Wiza | Free plan | About 5 phone numbers a month | No | Third-party reviews |
| Datagma | Free plan | 100 credits a month, 30 per mobile: 3 mobiles | No | Vendor page |
| ContactOut | Free plan | Reported at 5 phone numbers a day, figures conflict | No | Third-party reviews |
| lemlist | Free tool and free account | 1 lookup on the web tool; 25 finds a month announced for a free account | No | Vendor pages, which differ |
| FullEnrich | Trial | 50 credits, 10 per mobile: up to 5 mobiles | No | Vendor page |
| Zeliq | Trial (Starter) | 50 credits for 14 days, 10 per phone: up to 5 phones | No | Vendor page |
| UpLead | Trial | 5 credits in 7 days, each credit unlocks email and mobile | No | Vendor page |
| Pharow | Trial | 100 credits for 15 days, 10 per mobile plus 1 per prospect | Not stated | Vendor page |
| Swordfish | Trial | Reported at 7 days with a card and a small hold; terms vary by source | Yes, reported | Third-party reviews |
| Seamless.AI | Free license | 50 credits that never refresh | No | Vendor help center |
| ZoomInfo | Free tier (Lite) | Reported at 10 export credits a month | No | Third-party reviews |
| Clay | Free plan | 100 data credits a month, but no phone enrichment on Free | No | Vendor page |
| RocketReach | Free plan | A few lookups; phone numbers start on the paid Pro plan | No | Vendor help center |
| LeadMagic | Search trial | No free credits; a 14-day search trial | No | Vendor page |
The monthly free plans, provider by provider
These are the offers you can keep using month after month. They differ less on volume than on what you can do with the number once you have it.
Lusha
- Free allowance
- 40 credits a month, up to 8 phone reveals
- Credits per phone
- 5 (8 when found through its waterfall)
- No result
- No credit used
- Watch out
- Unused free credits do not roll over
Prospeo
- Free allowance
- 100 credits a month, up to 10 mobiles
- Credits per mobile
- 10, email included
- No result
- No charge without a valid result
- Watch out
- Paid prices differ between sources: check the pricing page
Kaspr
- Free allowance
- 5 phone credits a month
- Credits per phone
- 1 phone credit reveals a contact's numbers
- No result
- No credit used
- Watch out
- Phone credits are a separate pool from email credits
Surfe
- Free allowance
- 5 mobile finds a month (60 a year)
- Where it works
- LinkedIn and your CRM, through the extension
- No result
- Not stated on the pricing page
- Watch out
- Mobile and email finds are separate allowances
Apollo.io
- Free allowance
- About 5 mobile credits a month, per third-party guides
- Credits per mobile
- 8 on paid plans; company HQ numbers are free
- No result
- No credit used
- Watch out
- Credits reset each cycle and do not roll over
Datagma
- Free allowance
- 100 credits a month: 3 mobiles or 100 emails
- Credits per mobile
- 30
- No result
- No match, no credit used
- Watch out
- The credit count looks generous until you convert it to mobiles
Wiza and ContactOut sit in the same family, with a caveat: neither allowance could be read on the vendor’s own page on November 6, 2026. Third-party reviews dated mid-2026 put Wiza’s free plan at about 20 valid emails and 5 phone numbers a month, and ContactOut’s at 5 emails, 5 phone numbers and 5 exports a day, with older sources giving much lower monthly figures. Treat both as “check before you count on it”.
lemlist is a special case: its free web tool returns one phone number from a LinkedIn URL or a name and company domain, and lemlist pages describe up to 25 phone finds a month for an account on its free plan. Two lemlist pages give different figures for paid plans, so we only keep the order of magnitude.
A free plan is a test bench for a database, not a supply chain for a calling team.
Trials: more numbers, for a few days
Trials unlock a paid plan for a limited time or a fixed pack of credits. They are the best free way to run a serious test on a real sample, because the allowance is large enough to measure something.
FullEnrich
- Trial
- 50 credits, no card
- What it buys
- Up to 5 mobiles at 10 credits each
- No result
- If no data is found, nothing is charged; a landline instead of a mobile is free
- Why test it
- A waterfall across many providers in one lookup
Zeliq
- Trial
- 14 days of Starter with 50 credits, no card
- What it buys
- Up to 5 phone numbers at 10 credits each
- No result
- Credits used only when data is found and verified
- Watch out
- The permanent Basic plan includes no enrichment credits
UpLead
- Trial
- 7 days, 5 credits
- What it buys
- 5 contacts, each with email and mobile direct dial when available
- No result
- Not stated
- Watch out
- Five contacts is enough to see the interface, not to judge coverage
Pharow
- Trial
- 15 days, 100 credits
- What it buys
- About 9 mobiles: 10 credits per mobile plus 1 per prospect added
- No result
- Mobile credits charged only when one is found
- Why test it
- French company data, priced in euros
Two more trials need care. Swordfish sells “unlimited” reveals under a fair-use policy; a review updated in October 2026 describes a 7-day trial that requires a card, places a small temporary hold and converts to the paid plan unless you cancel, while other listings give different durations. Read the trial terms on the vendor’s site before you enter a card. LeadMagic gives no free credits, only a 14-day search trial, which lets you explore the database but not reveal numbers.
Best for: a one-week test on 50 to 100 real prospects, run on two or three providers at once so you compare like for like.
Free tiers that give no phone numbers
Some of the best-known names have a free tier that will not help you call anyone. It is worth knowing before you sign up.
ZoomInfo now says it is free to start, with a Lite tier that third parties report at 10 export credits a month, and Seamless.AI gives 50 credits on a free license that never refresh. Both can return a phone number, but the allowance is tiny or one-off, so they are closer to a demo than to a free plan.
What you actually get from a free phone number
A number is not a conversation. Before stacking free plans, look at what kind of number comes back and where it can go.
What free plans do well
- Show you the database: you see whether your target roles and countries are covered before paying.
- Return work mobiles: most of these tools look for mobiles first, the number type that connects best.
- Cost nothing when they miss: most providers on our list charge no credit for an empty result.
What they do not give you
- Volume: 3 to 10 mobiles a month will not fill a single calling session.
- Exports: several free plans keep numbers inside the browser extension.
- Coverage outside the core market: a free allowance spent on a weak country is wasted.
Mobile, direct line or switchboard? Free and paid plans draw from the same database, so the mix of number types is the same: what changes is how many you get. Watch for switchboards labeled as direct lines, especially when the same number appears for several people at one company. Our direct dial checker sorts any list into mobile, direct line and switchboard, and our article on B2B lead lists for cold calling explains the switchboard trap.
Which countries? Coverage depends on the provider far more than on the plan. A free test is the right moment to check it on your own market; our coverage map by country shows what each provider publishes, and where nobody publishes anything.
Export or extension only? If you plan to load numbers into a dialer, check the export rights on the free plan before you start. A number you must copy by hand from an extension costs you time on every contact.
Stacking free plans: the honest math
The obvious idea is to open one free account per provider and add up the allowances. It works for testing, much less for prospecting.
Fifteen mobiles a month is enough to work a few key accounts by hand, and not enough for a rep who makes calls every day. Two limits also apply. Most terms of service forbid opening several accounts with the same provider to multiply free credits, and the time spent switching tools, copying numbers and deduplicating grows faster than the allowance.
- 01
Pick 30 to 50 real prospects:
your target roles, in your countries, including the hard-to-reach ones. - 02
Run the same names through two or three free plans or trials:
names, companies and domains only. - 03
Count three things per provider:
numbers returned, mobiles among them, and numbers that turn out to be switchboards. - 04
Call a sample:
the only way to know whether a number is right is to dial it. - 05
Pick the winner on your market:
then compare its paid plan on cost per mobile found, not on plan price.
Our guide to B2B phone number enrichment details a 100-contact test protocol, and our waterfall enrichment tools comparison covers the tools that query several databases in a row once you move to paid.
Which free plan for which market
Free allowances are small, so spend them where the database is strongest. Coverage is uneven from one country to the next, and the same provider can be excellent in one market and nearly empty in another. Here is how to choose where to start, based on what providers publish about themselves and on the independent tests we found; our coverage map by country gives the detail and the sources.
A free allowance spent on a weak market is wasted twice: you get no number, and you conclude too fast that the provider is bad. Run your first free lookups on the country and role you call most, then widen.
Six mistakes people make with free phone finders
Free plans are easy to start and easy to misuse. These are the mistakes that cost the most, in time or in credibility on the phone.
- 01
Spending free credits on famous profiles:
CEOs of large companies and people who post a lot on LinkedIn are found by every tool. Test on the people you actually call, including the hard-to-reach roles, or every provider will look good. - 02
Counting credits instead of numbers:
100 credits can be 3 mobiles or 100 emails. Convert every allowance into phones before you compare. - 03
Revealing in bulk on a free plan:
some tools debit credits for every contact in a bulk selection, even when only part of the data comes back. On a small allowance, reveal one contact at a time. - 04
Trusting the label:
a number tagged “direct” can be the company’s main line. If several contacts at one company share it, it is a switchboard. - 05
Forgetting the card on a trial:
trials that ask for a card usually convert to a paid plan unless you cancel. Put the end date in your calendar the day you start. - 06
Not writing down the source:
in Europe you must be able to tell the person where you got their number. Keep a column with the provider’s name in your list.
How to read a free offer in five minutes
Vendors present their free tiers in very different ways, and the numbers that matter are rarely on the plan card. Five questions are enough to know what an offer is worth before you sign up.
| Question | Where to find the answer | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| How many credits does one mobile cost? | The credit rules page or help center | It turns “100 credits” into a real number of phones |
| Is a lookup with no result billed? | The same page, often in the FAQ | On a small allowance, billed misses can halve what you get |
| Do the credits renew every month? | The plan card and the terms | A one-off grant is a demo, not a plan |
| Can you export the numbers? | The plan comparison table | Without export, every number must be copied by hand |
| Does the trial need a card? | The sign-up page and the trial terms | Card trials usually convert to paid unless you cancel |
If the vendor does not answer one of these questions in writing, treat the offer with caution. The best providers on our list answer all five on a public page.
The six free manual methods, in short
Free plans are not the only way to get a number without paying. Six manual methods often work better on a single key account, because they open a conversation along the way. They are detailed step by step in our guide on how to find a cell phone number by name; here is the short version.
The hidden cost of free: time per number
The real price of a free number is the time it takes to get it. Manual research and juggling several free accounts cost minutes per contact, and minutes have a price.
So when does free still make sense? Three cases. When you call a handful of strategic accounts a month and research each one anyway. When you are testing which database covers your market before you commit. And when you are a founder doing the first calls yourself, with more time than budget. Beyond that, the question is no longer “free or paid” but “which paid plan gives me the lowest cost per correct mobile on my market”. Our phone enrichment pricing tool turns each provider’s price into a cost per conversation and per meeting, and our quiz suggests two or three providers based on your countries, roles and budget. To size the whole effort, the prospecting calculator shows how many calls and numbers a monthly meeting target takes.
Before you dial a number you got for free
A free number deserves the same checks as a paid one, and a few more, because free plans give you fewer chances to catch errors.
- 01
Check the format:
our phone number validator puts every number in E.164, flags invalid ones and tells you the line type where the numbering plan allows it. - 02
Sort by number type:
mobiles first, direct lines next, switchboards last, with the direct dial checker. - 03
Pick the right time:
when to call shows each prospect’s local time and the legal calling hours. - 04
Check the rules:
the cold calling compliance checker lists consent, do-not-call lists and hours by country.
On the legal side, the source of a number does not change the rules. In the US, manual business-to-business calls are generally allowed, while the TCPA restricts calls to cell phones made with an autodialer or a prerecorded voice without prior express consent; our guide to cold calling cell phones covers it. In the UK, business numbers are screened against the TPS and CTPS. In the EU, GDPR requires a legitimate interest for B2B prospecting and, under Article 14, telling the person where you got their data at the latest at the first contact. This is general information, not legal advice.
How Skipcall fits this workflow
Skipcall is a business phone and outbound calling platform, not a contact database: it does not sell lists. Once you have numbers, from a free plan, a paid provider or your CRM, you import them by CSV or sync them from HubSpot, Pipedrive, Salesforce or Attio, and call them with a power dialer or a parallel dialer on up to four lines. If some contacts in your file still lack a number, Skipcall’s built-in enrichment can complete the contacts you already have, on credits; it does not create new ones.
Free or paid: the decision in one table
The right answer depends less on your budget than on your volume and on how many countries you call. A founder who calls ten key accounts a month and a team that dials eight hundred numbers a week do not face the same question, even if both start from zero. Find your situation in the table below, then run the test protocol above before you commit to anything: a week of trials on your own prospects tells you more than any comparison page, including this one.
| Your situation | What to use | Why |
|---|---|---|
| A few strategic accounts a month | Manual methods plus one free plan | Each contact deserves research, and the volume fits the allowance |
| Choosing a provider | Two or three trials on the same 50 to 100 names | You compare coverage on your own market before paying |
| A founder making the first calls | Free plans from the providers strong in your country | Time is available, budget is not |
| A rep calling every day | A paid plan chosen on cost per correct mobile | Free allowances cover less than one session |
| A team in several countries | A waterfall tool or two complementary providers | No single database covers every country well |