---
title: "Can You Make Phone Calls With Starlink? 2026 Guide"
description: "What Starlink phone service, T-Satellite and Starlink Mobile actually do for calls, texts and data in 2026, and what is scheduled to change in 2027."
url: https://skipcall.io/en/blog/starlink-phone-calls
language: en
last_updated: 2026-10-19
---
[Ask Claude about this article](https://claude.ai/new?q=I'm%20reading%20%22Can%20You%20Make%20Phone%20Calls%20With%20Starlink%3F%20What%20Works%20in%202026%22%20\(https%3A%2F%2Fskipcall.io%2Fen%2Fblog%2Fstarlink-phone-calls\).%20Read%20the%20article%2C%20then%20answer%20my%20questions%20about%20it.) [Ask ChatGPT about this article](https://chatgpt.com/?q=I'm%20reading%20%22Can%20You%20Make%20Phone%20Calls%20With%20Starlink%3F%20What%20Works%20in%202026%22%20\(https%3A%2F%2Fskipcall.io%2Fen%2Fblog%2Fstarlink-phone-calls\).%20Read%20the%20article%2C%20then%20answer%20my%20questions%20about%20it.)

LinkedIn

X

[Back to blog](https://skipcall.io/en/blog)

Satellite

Published 19 October 2026

# Can You Make Phone Calls With Starlink? What Works in 2026

Yes, but through two very different paths. Over a Starlink dish, Wi-Fi Calling and any VoIP app carry ordinary calls today. Over Starlink's direct-to-phone service, sold in the US as T-Mobile's T-Satellite, you get texts, 911 and a short list of apps, not native voice. Here is what each path does, what it costs, and what is scheduled to change in 2027.

37 ms

the best US state median latency Ookla measured on Starlink in late 2025, well inside what voice tolerates

$10

per month per line for T-Satellite, on any US carrier with a compatible unlocked phone

mid-2027

SpaceX's target for the first second-generation satellites that should carry native voice

Yes, you can make phone calls with Starlink, but only through one of two very different paths. With a Starlink dish, your phone uses Wi-Fi Calling or any VoIP app over the satellite internet connection, and regular calls work. With Starlink’s direct-to-phone service, sold in the US as T-Mobile’s T-Satellite, a normal phone connects straight to a satellite with no dish. As of October 2026 that path supports texting, location sharing and a short list of data apps, including WhatsApp voice and video calls, but not native cellular voice.

Full voice and broadband direct to the phone is the promise of the second-generation “Starlink Mobile” constellation, which SpaceX says it will start launching in mid-2027. This guide separates what works today from what has only been announced.

2

unrelated radio paths behind one brand

650+

first-generation Direct to Cell satellites in orbit

0.2 W

what your phone transmits, and the reason voice is hard

## Two paths, one brand

“Starlink phone service” means one of two things, and the answer differs for each.

**Path 1: a Starlink dish plus your phone over Wi-Fi.** A Starlink terminal at home, in an RV or on a boat talks to the broadband satellites in the Ku and Ka bands, the router broadcasts Wi-Fi, and your phone treats it like any home internet connection. Wi-Fi Calling or any app (WhatsApp, FaceTime, Zoom, a cloud phone system) carries the call. This works today.

**Path 2: Direct to Cell, renamed “Starlink Mobile” in March 2026.** No dish. A separate fleet of Starlink satellites carries LTE radios that act like cell towers in orbit, using a terrestrial carrier’s licensed spectrum. Your unmodified phone connects straight to the satellite when it has no ground signal. In the US, T-Mobile sells this as T-Satellite. This path is new, and it carries all the limits.

Figure 1: Wi-Fi Calling over a Starlink dish versus Direct to Cell. Same company, two unrelated radio paths.

## Calls over a Starlink dish with Wi-Fi Calling

This is the only Starlink path that carries ordinary voice calls today.

Wi-Fi Calling routes your regular phone number over any broadband connection. T-Mobile’s support page sets a minimum of 2 Mbps up and down and lists satellite internet as “not supported”, language that predates low-Earth-orbit service. T-Mobile community members report Wi-Fi Calling working on Starlink, including a user in central Alabama who moved his calls to Starlink after an older T-Mobile CellSpot failed. Read the official line as “no guarantee”, not “will not work”.

Latency is why Starlink works for voice where geostationary satellite internet did not. Geostationary satellites sit roughly 22,000 miles up, with round trips of half a second or more. Starlink’s broadband satellites orbit a few hundred miles up. Ookla data for the second half of 2025, summarized by the Benton Institute on May 5, 2026, puts Starlink’s lowest median multi-server latency in the US at 37 ms, with median downloads above 100 Mbps in every state except Alaska. A voice call needs a fraction of that bandwidth, and that latency is well inside what VoLTE and VoIP tolerate.

**What you need.** A Starlink plan (US residential tiers were $50, $80 and $120 per month as of January 26, 2026, per SlashGear), a phone with Wi-Fi Calling enabled and an E911 address on your account, or any VoIP app. Calls through WhatsApp, Zoom or a hosted [business phone system](https://skipcall.io/en/blog/business-phone-system) travel the same way. Stay in range of your router, and if the dish loses sky view under heavy rain or trees, the call drops.

## What T-Satellite can and cannot do

T-Satellite is T-Mobile’s branded version of Starlink Direct to Cell. It launched commercially on July 23, 2025, after a beta that began in January 2025 and reached nearly 1.8 million users (Wireless Estimator, June 26, 2025). As of October 2026:

**Texting.** SMS, MMS and RCS, pictures and location sharing. Text to 911 by satellite is free for anyone with an eligible phone, including AT\&T and Verizon customers.

**Data for a limited set of apps.** On October 1, 2025, T-Mobile switched on satellite data for apps optimized for the thin pipe: WhatsApp (voice and video chat, group calls, voice notes), AllTrails, AccuWeather, CalTopo, onX, X, Google Maps and T-Life, plus native apps such as Google Messages and Apple Weather. Business apps include Dialpad, MultiLine and T-Mobile Direct Connect (T-Mobile newsroom).

**Native voice calls: no.** A satelliteinternet.com guide updated July 2, 2026 states that “native voice calls are still in development”. The only way to talk over T-Satellite is through an app on the data list, with WhatsApp the one T-Mobile promotes. A WhatsApp call is a data stream the app can compress, buffer and retry. A native VoLTE call must meet carrier quality and 911 routing requirements over a link that, in T-Mobile’s words, “may drop and reconnect as satellites move”.

**Price.** $10 per month per line, included at no charge on T-Mobile’s Experience Beyond plan (and on Go5G Next and the SuperMobile and T-Priority business plans). AT\&T, Verizon or any other US carrier’s customers can buy it for the same $10 with a compatible, unlocked phone that has a free eSIM slot. T-Mobile calls $10 a limited-time rate, $5 below standard.

**Phones.** More than 60 models: iPhone 13 and newer, Google Pixel 9 series, Samsung Galaxy S21 and newer, recent Galaxy Z Fold and Flip, several Galaxy A phones, and recent Motorola Edge, Moto G and Razr models (9to5Google, July 24, 2025), plus 17 added on October 2, 2025, including iPhone Air and iPhone SE (3rd gen) (TechRadar). No special phone is needed. The device-by-device picture, including Apple’s and Verizon’s own satellite features, is in our guide to [satellite texting on iPhone, Pixel and Galaxy](https://skipcall.io/en/blog/satellite-texting-phones).

**Conditions.** Outdoors with a clear view of the sky. T-Mobile says data speeds are limited and apps “may not work or may work differently”. You cannot force the phone onto satellite while a terrestrial signal exists.

## Why a normal phone cannot make a regular call through a satellite yet

A cell tower is a few miles away at most. The first-generation Direct to Cell satellites fly at roughly 350 km (about 217 miles), per SpaceX’s MWC figures reported by Broadband Breakfast, and move at 7.7 km per second, per SpaceX’s own technical update. Your phone was never designed for that distance. Four constraints stack up.

**Transmit power.** A smartphone transmits at a maximum of about 0.2 W, a figure SpaceX cites directly, and that cap is set by regulation and battery life. The signal reaching the satellite is extremely faint. SpaceX’s answer is a 2.7 by 2.3 meter phased array on each satellite with custom silicon and “sensitive receivers and high-power transmitters”, and it describes the system as operating “just at the edge of physics” where LTE is achievable.

**Spectrum.** First-generation Direct to Cell owns no spectrum. It borrows slices of T-Mobile’s PCS band (around 1900 MHz) under the FCC’s Supplemental Coverage from Space framework adopted March 14, 2024, which makes satellite use secondary to the terrestrial network. A narrow, shared slice plus a link budget at the edge of physics means each beam has very little capacity. A text is a few hundred bytes. A call is a continuous stream.

**Satellite power limits.** When the FCC approved the SpaceX and T-Mobile arrangement in November 2024, it deferred SpaceX’s request to exceed the standard out-of-band emission limit, which AT\&T and Verizon opposed (Broadband Breakfast). On March 10, 2025, the FCC granted the waiver, raising the limit from -120 to -110.6 dBW/m²/MHz. SpaceX had argued that without it, compliance “would delay deployment of lifesaving emergency voice service” (Telecoms.com). One blocker removed, but not the capacity math.

**Doppler and handoff.** A satellite crosses the visible sky in roughly four minutes (KeepTrack), so every session must survive a handoff, with Doppler shift and timing changes LTE was not designed around. Texts tolerate a hiccup. A live call does not.

That is why the rollout went text first (2024), data apps second (October 2025), and native voice still “in development”. It is a radio link with limited headroom, not a withheld feature. The engineering behind each of these constraints is explained in [direct-to-cell explained](https://skipcall.io/en/blog/direct-to-cell-explained).

## What Starlink Mobile is

On March 2, 2026, at Mobile World Congress in Barcelona, SpaceX president Gwynne Shotwell and Starlink engineering lead Michael Nicolls renamed Direct to Cell as Starlink Mobile. Fierce Network quotes Nicolls on the goal: “to connect to regular, unmodified cell phones everywhere in the world”.

**The existing first-generation constellation.** About 650 Direct to Cell satellites, fully deployed after 18 months, operating across five continents, and the network behind T-Satellite (Fierce Network; TelecomTV, March 3, 2026). SpaceX said it had connected more than 16 million unique users, with about 10 million monthly active, and projected more than 25 million monthly active by the end of 2026 (Broadband Breakfast).

**A second-generation (V2) constellation that does not exist yet.** This is where the “5G from space” headlines come from. Per the MWC reporting:

- Launches begin in mid-2027 on Starship, with about 1,200 V2 satellites targeted within six months (Broadband Breakfast; TelecomTV).
- Up to 150 Mbps to a phone; roughly 20 times the throughput per satellite and 100 times the data density of the first generation (Fierce Network; TelecomTV).
- Text, data, voice and video. Nicolls said that outdoors, under the right conditions, it should feel like a high-performing 5G network.
- Exclusive S-band spectrum bought from EchoStar, rather than borrowed carrier spectrum.

Starlink Mobile is not a carrier you can sign up with. Satelliteinternet.com, reporting on the announcement: “For now, Starlink Mobile will not be a standalone service”, and T-Mobile remains the only US carrier named. Musk said in a September 2025 podcast that Starlink should be able to operate like AT\&T, T-Mobile or Verizon, while adding that existing carriers would remain because they own significant spectrum (Light Reading, February 6, 2026). An ambition, not a product. Whether that ambition turns into a carrier is the subject of [Starlink Mobile vs AT\&T, Verizon and T-Mobile](https://skipcall.io/en/blog/starlink-mobile-vs-carriers).

## What the EchoStar spectrum deal changes

On September 8, 2025, EchoStar agreed to sell its AWS-4 and H-block licenses to SpaceX for roughly $17 billion: up to $8.5 billion in cash and up to $8.5 billion in SpaceX stock, plus about $2 billion of SpaceX-funded interest payments on EchoStar debt through November 2027 (EchoStar press release). SpaceX described it as 50 MHz of exclusive S-band spectrum in the US plus global Mobile Satellite Service licenses, and said upgraded satellites would have “more than 100 times” the capacity of the first generation (TechCrunch). Shotwell: “with exclusive spectrum, SpaceX will develop next generation Starlink Direct to Cell satellites”.

The FCC approved the transfer on May 12, 2026, as part of EchoStar sales worth more than $40 billion that also sent about 50 MHz to AT\&T. Mobile World Live put the SpaceX portion at about 65 MHz including AWS-3, AWS-4 and H-block, with waivers allowing “terrestrial, space-based and hybrid network architectures”. FCC Chairman Brendan Carr cited “high-speed connections right to your smartphone from space” (Advanced Television; Mobile World Live).

Why it matters: today’s service is secondary to T-Mobile’s towers and squeezed into a sliver of PCS. Owning 2 GHz spectrum outright lets V2 satellites use the whole band at full design power with 5G protocols. Add a larger antenna and Starship-class launch mass, and that is where 150 Mbps comes from.

Figure 2: The US direct-to-cell timeline, from first announcement to the planned second-generation launch. Green dots happened; the dashed dot is a company target.

## Can I buy a Starlink phone?

No. There is no Starlink-branded phone, and SpaceX says it is not building one.

In early February 2026, Reuters reported that SpaceX had planned “for years” to develop a Starlink-connected smartphone. Musk’s response, per Light Reading on February 6, 2026: “We are not developing a phone”. He added that one was “not out of the question at some point” but “would be a very different device than current phones”.

What does exist: trademarks for “Starlink Mobile” and “Powered by Starlink”, filed in fall 2025 and covering two-way voice, video and data over a hybrid satellite and terrestrial network (Light Reading). Trademarks are not products. The entire point of Direct to Cell, in SpaceX’s words, is that it works with “existing LTE phones wherever you can see the sky”.

A related confusion: in April 2026, prepaid carrier US Mobile announced a bundle of mobile service with Starlink home internet, hinted at around $50 per month. Android Authority was explicit that “this is not a backup satellite service”. It is a dish bundle, Path 1 above.

## How Starlink compares to AT\&T and Verizon satellite service

T-Satellite runs on by far the largest direct-to-phone constellation, but it is not the only satellite feature US carriers offer.

Service

#### T-Mobile T-Satellite

Satellite partner: SpaceX Starlink

- **Satellites** : 650+
- **Text** : Yes (SMS, MMS, RCS, 911)
- **Data apps** : Yes, approved list incl. WhatsApp calls
- **Native voice** : No, "in development"
- **Price** : $10/mo or included on Experience Beyond
- **Status** : Live since July 23, 2025

Service

#### Verizon satellite messaging

Satellite partner: Skylo (text); AST SpaceMobile (future)

- **Satellites** : AST: 5 first-gen BlueBirds operational in 2025
- **Text** : Yes, on Galaxy S25 and Pixel 9 series
- **Data apps** : No
- **Native voice** : No; planned with AST
- **Price** : Free on S25 for 2025
- **Status** : Text live; AST-based service targeted 2026

Service

#### AT\&T satellite

Satellite partner: AST SpaceMobile

- **Satellites** : Same AST fleet
- **Text** : Emergency and messaging on supported phones
- **Data apps** : No
- **Native voice** : Planned
- **Price** : Not disclosed
- **Status** : AST targeting intermittent nationwide service in 2026

Service

#### Apple satellite emergency service

Satellite partner: Globalstar

- **Satellites** : Not disclosed in sources
- **Text** : Emergency messaging
- **Data apps** : No
- **Native voice** : No
- **Price** : Built into iPhone 14 and later
- **Status** : Launched 2022

Sources: T-Mobile pages; Android Authority (March 21, 2025); PhoneArena (2025). AST SpaceMobile uses far fewer, larger satellites designed for voice from day one, but per PhoneArena it expected only 40 by the end of March 2026, with “intermittent” nationwide service the 2026 goal.

Figure 3: What works today versus what is announced, by path.

## What will change in 2027

If SpaceX hits its schedule:

1. **Mid-2027: first V2 launches on Starship**, expected to carry more than 50 satellites per flight (5Gstore). Starship is still in testing: its Flight 13, announced July 11, 2026, was to carry 20 prototype V3 broadband satellites (SatNews). V2 Direct to Cell satellites are a different design, but both depend on Starship flying routinely.
2. **About 1,200 satellites within six months** for global contiguous coverage. SpaceX has asked the FCC for authority for up to 15,000 direct-to-cell satellites on the 2 GHz spectrum (Fierce Network, September 24, 2025).
3. **Voice, video and up to 150 Mbps** to unmodified phones, outdoors, under good conditions.
4. **Carrier distribution.** T-Mobile in the US, Deutsche Telekom as the first European V2 partner from 2028, and Boost Mobile subscribers through EchoStar’s 5G core (TelecomTV; EchoStar).

Every date is a company target. The first generation took about 18 months from its January 2, 2024 first launch to commercial US service in July 2025. Expect a similar arc, not an overnight switch.

## Which path should you use?

> A single “Starlink phone plan” that replaces your carrier does not exist, and the version with native voice is scheduled for 2027.

For normal phone calls at a fixed location (home, cabin, office, boat at anchor), a Starlink dish with Wi-Fi Calling or a VoIP app is the only option that works today. Businesses needing multiple lines or a [virtual business phone number](https://skipcall.io/en/blog/virtual-business-phone-number) run those over the same connection, and a [business mobile app](https://skipcall.io/en/features/application-mobile) gives each employee the company number on their own handset over that Wi-Fi.

For a safety net where there is no signal, T-Satellite gives you texts, 911 and WhatsApp calls for $10 per month with no hardware, on any US carrier with a compatible unlocked phone.

## Sources

- [MWC 2026: Starlink Mobile unveils plans for V2 satellites and more (Fierce Network, March 2, 2026)](https://www.fierce-network.com/wireless/mwc-starlink-mobile-unveils-plans-v2-satellites-and-more)
- [SpaceX Scheduled 2027 Launch of 1,200-Satellite Mobile Constellation (Broadband Breakfast, March 3, 2026)](https://broadbandbreakfast.com/spacex-scheduled-2027-launch-of-1-200-satellite-mobile-constellation/)
- [MWC26: Starlink preps new D2D constellation (TelecomTV, March 3, 2026)](https://www.telecomtv.com/content/access-evolution/mwc26-starlink-preps-new-d2d-constellation-54977/)
- [5G from Space: Starlink Mobile Promises Global Broadband for Every Smartphone (SatelliteInternet.com, March 3, 2026)](https://www.satelliteinternet.com/resources/direct-to-cell-is-now-starlink-mobile/)
- [T-Satellite is here, and now it’s powering apps (T-Mobile Newsroom, October 1, 2025)](https://www.t-mobile.com/news/network/t-satellite-data-ready-app-expansion)
- [T-Satellite: satellite phone service (T-Mobile)](https://www.t-mobile.com/coverage/satellite-phone-service)
- [Wi-Fi Calling from T-Mobile (T-Mobile Support)](https://www.t-mobile.com/support/coverage/wi-fi-calling-from-t-mobile)
- [Starlink internet for WiFi calling (T-Mobile Community)](https://www.t-mobile.com/community/discussions/coverage-signal/starlink-internet-for-wifi-calling/101614)
- [T-Mobile to launch T-Satellite (Wireless Estimator, June 26, 2025)](https://wirelessestimator.com/articles/2025/t-mobile-to-launch-t-satellite-first-u-s-satellite-to-phone-service-with-spacexs-starlink/)
- [T-Mobile satellite service launches with these supported devices (9to5Google, July 24, 2025)](https://9to5google.com/2025/07/24/t-mobile-satellite-service-launch-device-support/)
- [T-Mobile boosts its Starlink satellite service with support for more apps and phones (TechRadar, October 2, 2025)](https://www.techradar.com/phones/t-mobile-boosts-its-starlink-satellite-service-with-support-for-more-apps-and-phones-but-quietly-loses-a-google-photos-perk)
- [Starlink Direct to Cell and T-Satellite Guide (SatelliteInternet.com, updated July 2, 2026)](https://www.satelliteinternet.com/providers/starlink/starlink-direct-to-cell/)
- [T-Mobile T-Satellite Is Getting a Huge Upgrade (5Gstore, March 7, 2026)](https://5gstore.com/blog/2026/03/07/t-mobile-tsatellite-starlink-v2/)
- [Direct to Cell: First Text Update (Starlink, January 2024)](https://starlink.com/public-files/DIRECT_TO_CELL_FIRST_TEXT_UPDATE.pdf)
- [Starlink Direct to Cell deep dive (KeepTrack.space)](https://www.keeptrack.space/deep-dive/starlink-direct-to-cell)
- [FCC approves rules for NTN direct-to-device (RCR Wireless, March 15, 2024)](https://www.rcrwireless.com/20240315/policy/fcc-approves-rules-for-ntn-direct-to-device)
- [FCC Adopts New Satellite-to-Cell Regulatory Framework (Via Satellite, March 14, 2024)](https://www.satellitetoday.com/connectivity/2024/03/14/fcc-adopts-new-satellite-to-cell-regulatory-framework)
- [FCC Approves SpaceX and T-Mobile’s Direct-to-Cell Service (Broadband Breakfast, November 27, 2024)](https://broadbandbreakfast.com/fcc-approves-spacex-and-t-mobiles-direct-to-cell-service)
- [FCC gives SpaceX waiver on satellite power emission rules (Telecoms.com, March 10, 2025)](https://www.telecoms.com/satellite/fcc-gives-spacex-waiver-on-satellite-power-emission-rules)
- [EchoStar Announces Spectrum Sale and Commercial Agreement with SpaceX (EchoStar, September 8, 2025)](https://ir.echostar.com/node/32686)
- [SpaceX strikes $17B deal to buy EchoStar’s spectrum (TechCrunch, September 8, 2025)](https://techcrunch.com/2025/09/08/spacex-strikes-17b-deal-to-buy-echostars-spectrum-for-starlinks-direct-to-phone-service/)
- [SpaceX snares some EchoStar spectrum for $17B (Light Reading, September 8, 2025)](https://www.lightreading.com/5g/spacex-snares-some-echostar-spectrum-for-17b)
- [SpaceX talks about what it wants to do with its new 2 GHz spectrum (Fierce Network, September 24, 2025)](https://www.fierce-network.com/wireless/spacex-talks-about-what-it-wants-do-its-new-2-ghz-spectrum)
- [FCC approves EchoStar’s spectrum sale to SpaceX/AT\&T (Advanced Television, May 13, 2026)](https://www.advanced-television.com/2026/05/13/fcc-approves-echostars-spectrum-sale-to-spacex-att/)
- [FCC signs off on EchoStar deals to SpaceX, AT\&T (Mobile World Live, May 13, 2026)](https://www.mobileworldlive.com/att/fcc-signs-off-on-echostar-deals-to-spacex-att/)
- [Musk denies SpaceX is developing a Starlink phone (Light Reading, February 6, 2026)](https://www.lightreading.com/satellite/musk-denies-spacex-is-developing-a-starlink-phone)
- [US Mobile is launching a plan with Starlink (Android Authority, April 8, 2026)](https://www.androidauthority.com/us-mobile-starlink-3655895/)
- [Starlink hits new highs in the US (Benton Institute, summarizing Ookla, May 5, 2026)](https://www.benton.org/headlines/starlink-hits-new-highs-us)
- [Starlink’s Cheapest Plan Is Back, But There’s A Catch (SlashGear, January 26, 2026)](https://www.slashgear.com/2084684/cheapest-starlink-residential-plan-50-dollars)
- [SpaceX advances direct-to-device constellation with Starlink V3 hardware (SatNews, July 13, 2026)](https://satnews.com/2026/07/13/spacex-advances-direct-to-device-constellation-matrix-with-starlink-v3-hardware/)
- [Verizon satellite SMS now live on Pixel 9 and Galaxy S25 (Android Authority, March 21, 2025)](https://www.androidauthority.com/verizon-satellite-sms-pixel-9-galaxy-s25-3536983)
- [Verizon details free Galaxy S25 satellite messaging service (PhoneArena)](https://www.phonearena.com/news/Verizon-details-free-Galaxy-S25-satellite-messaging-service_id167222)
- [Half of AT\&T customers can now access satellite services (PhoneArena, April 2025)](https://www.phonearena.com/news/att-satellite-launch-teased_id169505)
- [Verizon and AT\&T go after T-Mobile big time (PhoneArena)](https://www.phonearena.com/news/verizon-and-att-go-after-t-mobile-big-time_id175700)

All sources accessed October 19, 2026.

Author

[Charles Baldet](https://skipcall.io/en/author/charles-baldet) [Charles Baldet on LinkedIn](https://www.linkedin.com/in/charlesbaldet/)

CEO & Co-Founder, Skipcall

Charles is the CEO and co-founder of Skipcall. A sales commando with over 10 years of experience in B2B SaaS and complex strategic accounts, he has closed major deals with Stellantis, SNCF, RATP and Natixis. A specialist in the PUCCKA and MEDDIC methodologies, Charles regularly teaches sales at HEC's incubator and the Sorbonne. He was ranked among Les Echos' top 10 business angels under 35 in 2020. He also co-founded Getalead (B2B sales agency) and Getlab (SalesTech studio).

[See all their articles](https://skipcall.io/en/author/charles-baldet)

## A calendar full of meetings starts with a call.

[Get started now](https://app.skipcall.io/signup) [Book a demo](https://skipcall.io/en/demo)

**No commitment** · Number live in 2 minutes

FAQ

## Frequently asked questions

**Does Starlink have its own phone service I can subscribe to?**

No. Starlink Mobile is SpaceX's name for its direct-to-phone network, delivered through carriers. In the US that carrier is T-Mobile, under the T-Satellite brand. SpaceX said at MWC 2026 that it will not be a standalone service for now. The second generation with voice and broadband starts launching in mid-2027 if the schedule holds.

**Can I make a regular phone call over T-Satellite?**

Not yet. T-Satellite supports texting, picture messages, location sharing, Text to 911 and a list of optimized data apps. Voice and video calls work only inside WhatsApp, which T-Mobile lists as a supported app. Native cellular voice over the satellite link was still described as in development in mid-2026 reporting.

**Does Wi-Fi Calling work on Starlink internet?**

In practice, yes. Starlink's low-Earth-orbit latency, measured by Ookla at state medians as low as 37 ms in late 2025, is well within what voice tolerates, and T-Mobile customers report it working. T-Mobile's Wi-Fi Calling support page still lists satellite internet as not supported, so the carrier does not guarantee it. Any VoIP app behaves the same way.

**How much does T-Satellite cost?**

$10 per month per line as a limited-time rate, which T-Mobile says is $5 below the standard price. It is included at no extra cost on the Experience Beyond plan and some business plans. AT\&T, Verizon and other carriers' customers can buy it for the same $10 with a compatible, unlocked phone that has a free eSIM slot. Text to 911 by satellite is free for everyone with an eligible phone.

**Why is satellite-to-phone data so slow compared to a Starlink dish?**

A dish has a large, powered, steerable antenna and dedicated spectrum. A phone transmits at about 0.2 W through a tiny antenna, and first-generation satellites borrow a narrow slice of T-Mobile's shared PCS band under rules that make satellite use secondary. SpaceX describes the link as operating at the edge of what LTE physics allows. The second generation addresses this with exclusive S-band spectrum.

**Is SpaceX making a Starlink phone?**

No. In February 2026 Elon Musk answered a Reuters report with the words 'We are not developing a phone', while leaving the door open to 'a very different device' at some point. The whole strategy behind Direct to Cell is the opposite: connect the phones people already own. Any phone on T-Mobile's compatibility list qualifies for satellite texting today.

Keep reading

## Related articles

[View all articles](https://skipcall.io/en/blog)

01

VoIP

### [Does VoIP Work Over Starlink? Latency, Jitter and Setup](https://skipcall.io/en/blog/voip-over-starlink)

Yes, VoIP works over Starlink: published latency of 25 to 60 ms sits far inside the voice budget. The catch is consistency, not speed. Satellite handovers every 15 seconds, a narrow upload lane and queue buildup on the Starlink router produce choppy calls, and each has a fix. Real numbers, the right plan for a team, router setup and a troubleshooting flow.

19 Oct 2026

02

Satellite

### [Direct-to-Cell Explained: How Your Phone Reaches a Satellite](https://skipcall.io/en/blog/direct-to-cell-explained)

Direct-to-cell connects an ordinary, unmodified smartphone to a satellite instead of a ground tower. The satellite carries a real LTE base station on your carrier's own frequencies, 350 km overhead. The catch is physics: an enormous antenna, Doppler correction, and very little capacity per beam. That is why texting arrived first and voice is still being rolled out.

19 Oct 2026

03

Satellite

### [Starlink Mobile vs AT\&T, Verizon and T-Mobile: 2027 Outlook](https://skipcall.io/en/blog/starlink-mobile-vs-carriers)

SpaceX now owns about 65 MHz of nationwide US spectrum and has said on the record that it wants customers from the big three. The three carriers have refused to host it as an MVNO and pooled their own spectrum in a joint venture. Here is what was bought, what was said, and what a Starlink phone plan could realistically look like.

19 Oct 2026

## Ready to multiply your productivity?

Join the sales teams that have transformed their prospecting.

[Request a demo](https://skipcall.io/en/demo)

Personalized demo • No commitment
